Why I have little time for the belief in UFO’s

There seems to me to be a simple internal inconsistency in saying “I believe in UFOs” because if you expand that it reads “I believe in unidentified flying objects” because it is believing in something you don’t understand. What they really mean is I believe aliens or spaceships are present in earths atmosphere/ near space but they would not say it because it quickly looks stupid. I also believe there are things I can’t identify, sometime it lasts seconds before I identify it and in a few rare cases I still have not identified it – however until I identify it I can’t believe anything about it let alone pronounce facts about it. The UFO fraternity relies on two other structures to keep there “dreams” alive 1. Conspiracy theories 2. You cant prove (or in this case disprove a negative). As usual for Woo Woo it usually fails basic tenants of critical thinking. Just like other alternative medicine, evidence of UFO beliefs must immediately be put to the side pending further evidence because by nature they a prepositions that can not be tested using “Blind” or “Double Blind” research as by definition they require an observer primed to categorize it as a effective/observed. We can’t not easily if at all test the Null case.

About Tony

Living and working in Sydney Australia I also share a property with my partner in the NSW Southern Table Lands near Braidwood. At the property I am developing a range of projects and services to promote sustainable practices and provide retreats as diverse as sustainable building, Bush regeneration, Art and Photography. Our little bit of Australia is the inspiration for products from LaSource.com.au

Posted on April 3, 2013, in News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

