Never know your luck with computers

After installing the critical Items on my new laptop the old one failed to start. After and hours or two I was reluctant to spend the time fixing it with other pressing work to do.

I bit the bullet last weekend and got it fixed. Once again pre planing and experience has reduced the potential impact of a laptop failure.  The first thing I did on recovery was to run a full backup using my licensed copy of “Image for Windows” see. Now with a full image I can browse or mount the backup as a drive on my new laptop and recover files as needed if the old laptop gives up the ghost again – given I was unable to identify the “root cause” of the failure and a number of indicators it was hardware related.

I must say the new feature I built into my personal organiser to record and review my own successes is helpful, rather than simply working through large to do lists, and when each task is completed just removing them from the list. It is very helpful to review your achivements. It allows yo to look back on the last day and week to see the successes you have had. It gives you the feeling of progress essential to performing at a high level.

Here is some of my quick success notes from this weekend as an example;

Success in Fix or access rural media In Part after persistence  Saturday, July 14th, 2012 at 6:12:23 pm
Success in Migration to new computer Image for Windows, Office, PSE and ACDSee trial Saturday, July 14th, 2012 at 10:40:13 pm
Success in Fix or access rural media Fixing fault, Backing Up, Providing access from HyPe, Increasing space on RuralMedia Saturday, July 14th, 2012 at 10:41:16 pm
Success in Office 2010 Install on HyPe Also Visio Saturday, July 14th, 2012 at 11:01:36 pm
Success in Review record of success daily Day out and exercise achived Sunday, July 15th, 2012 at 6:54:05 pm

Give it a try yourself.

Tony

About Tony

Living and working in Sydney Australia I also share a property with my partner in the NSW Southern Table Lands near Braidwood. At the property I am developing a range of projects and services to promote sustainable practices and provide retreats as diverse as sustainable building, Bush regeneration, Art and Photography. Our little bit of Australia is the inspiration for products from LaSource.com.au

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Anthonys News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

