A Trial to move to a new computer ?

Migrating from my older home computer to a new one today. I have found some surprising discoveries and ways to ease this burden.

I am moving from An Intel Core 2 (2.Ghz) 4GB Windows7 (64bit) to a Intel Core i7 3rd Gen (Quad core) @ 2.30 GHz 8Gb Windows7 (64bit). I expect some improvement, and since the old one was not released with Windows7 64bit I have a number of devices not working – the fingerprint reader, built-in audio etc..

I have been putting it off, given the degree to which I use my computer, all the software and my dependance on it.

Actually it is not so bad because I have adopted various strategies to use both my home and work computers and found some new quality tools to help in the migration.

I thought I would share them and it may help some of you out.

  • After getting the new computer up-to-date I have installed the DropBox Client, with the LAN option active I have 2GB of critical use files automatically synced.
  • After installing TeamViewer and setting the (Hidden) LAN option I am now remote controlling the new computer and using the original computers KeyBoard and Mouse to do everything on both computers.
  • Then I used the FileTransfer features of TeamViewer to copy across my FireFox Portable folder (see portableapps.com)  and it carried everything in FireFox over. A real advantage of using portable apps.

I will post more tips as I progress but now for a steak at the Local Pub.

About Tony

Living and working in Sydney Australia I also share a property with my partner in the NSW Southern Table Lands near Braidwood. At the property I am developing a range of projects and services to promote sustainable practices and provide retreats as diverse as sustainable building, Bush regeneration, Art and Photography. Our little bit of Australia is the inspiration for products from LaSource.com.au

Posted on June 16, 2012, in News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

